Rave Reviews

Second House from the Corner cover

Novelist Sadeqa Johnson should take a bow for her latest effort.

Essence Magazine

Johnson is a skilled storyteller with a breezy style, and the journey of Felicia, a strong African American woman, will have particular appeal for Terry McMillan fans.

Booklist

Second House From the Corner by Sadeqa Johnson was intriguing from beginning to end. I loved the characters and the twists and turns of the story. Without giving away any spoilers, I will simply say I would recommend this well-written work to anyone looking for a great story but most certainly to book clubs because this is the kind of story that gives rise to a great discussion.

Sharon Lucas

of The Reading Divas Book club (Bowie MD)

A captivating tale to savor… Felicia is a wonderfully flawed, compelling main character, one who has stayed with me long after I finished the book. A winning novel from a writer to watch.

Benilde Little

Bestselling author of Welcome to My Breakdown and Good Hair

Sadeqa Johnson has created a wonderfully relatable tale of modern feminine strength and human weakness. In Felicia, she skillfully paints the timeless, authentic desires and shortcomings every woman will recognize. Tastefully steamy romantic scenes and men you love to hate will keep your bedside lamp burning long after you should be asleep.

Tina Metzger

Librarian, Chesterfield County Public Library, Virginia

Sadeqa Johnson is one of those authors you rarely find these days. Her gift of writing sings on every page. When reading her second novel, Second House From the Corner, you can’t help feeling like you just received a letter from an old friend… or an old lover. It is a must read!

Here's the Story Bookstore in Union, NJ

Love in a Carry-On Bag cover

My book club read Sadeqa Johnson’s debut novel, Love in a Carry-On Bag and thoroughly enjoyed it! I am also looking forward to reading her next title, Second House From the Corner.” 

Kimberla Lawson Roby

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author

Sadeqa Johnson is a captivating novelist, who extrapolates the forces that pressure passion and sex in modern times. In the tradition of Terri McMillian and Omar Tyree, the distinctive style she has cultivated will smolder and smoke long after the last page has been turned.”

Jackson Taylor

Author of The Blue Orchard

Love In A Carry-On Bag is refreshing and engaging, with instantly relatable characters caught in the dilemmas of modern life. I was pulled in at once and a little bit sad when I was nearing the end, as it was such an enjoyable ride. That’s the mark of good storytelling and Sadeqa definitely hit the mark.

Lolita Files

Best Selling Author of Child of God

With Love in a Carry-on Bag Philly sister, Sadeqa Johnson has written an old-school love story. It’s all heart, sould and realness with a touch of a trumpet man’s jazz reminding me of Spike Lee’s classic film, Mo Betta Blues. Pick it up and enjoy this real chocolate love.

Omar Tyree

New York Times Best Selling Author of 19 Books, Flyy Girl

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares
Share This
And Then There was Me

Download a FREE excerpt!

Subscribe and get your FREE excerpt from And Then There Was Me.

On sale April 2017!

You have Successfully Subscribed!